Summer Living in Haifa

Here’s just a nice quick update for all the readers.

Job: Onward Israel (Israel Experience)

My summer job is almost over and it has been a blast. I have 40 students from the Boston Area that are doing a wide range of Internships for two months in Haifa. What is my position? Madrich. What is a madrich? Well one of my students told me that her boyfriend asked what is a madrich and this was her response, “A temporary parental unit, perpetual babysitter, nanny, and a person to whine to.” So that is how they see my position. Very cute 🙂

I have had such a positive experience being their madrich. I hang out with them a lot in the afternoons at my favorite coffee shop in Kikar Paris. They come to talk about their jobs, roommates, hobbies, passions, and of course their issues. We also get to have a tour in Israel once a week and a educational program on Monday’s. You can read more about these from the Newsletter that I produce once a week. Which is another part of the job I like. They are pretty cool especially because my co-madricha (Yael) and I get to feature two students each time.

I’m hoping this experience will lead me into a full time/year round job in the next month. (Might have a few leads, but if you have any recommendations, let me know) I know now that I want to work in Education (Hinuk) and I’m now looking into teacher training…could you ever see me as a High School History teacher??? In Israel! Well we’ll see…

Ulpan (Kitah Dalet)

This summer I also decided to make my last class of my Masters in Hebrew Ulpan. The University of Haifa International School offers a very good and intense ulpan for the summer. Its four hours/four days/four weeks, plus hours of Homework a day. I’m in the second highest level currently, turns out I may be fluent, but my grammar isn’t up to par. The past three weeks though have really kicked my Hebrew into shape and I hope that you all can tell the difference. I know my reading and writing has majorly improved, which was the goal. With my final next week, I’ll be done with my MA classes! Now I just got to finish all my research papers…. : )

Well thats it for now, enjoy my new Instagram feed on the right! Follow me too @IsraelBuff

Leave a Reply

