Aliyah 2.0

Wow! It has been awhile since I wrote a post. A lot has been going on in the past few months, but now I thought I would update the world on what I’m doing.

I finished my year in AVODAH: The Jewish Service Corps in July! I can’t believe I made it to the end. It was a bit of a challenge, but I’m glad I made it through. I won’t go on about it here…there was a lot of ups and downs, but now I kinda miss my 9 crazy housemates, supervisor, and co-workers. I did have it good, DC just wasn’t the place for me. I don’t like talking about American politics or going to museums, so I moved back to Colorado.

Past three months

Yes, I moved back to Colorado in August. I came back to Boulder to work temporarily with Chabad @ CU and Rabbi Wilhelm.  I really needed to make some money and reset my life. The first day back in Boulder, I just drove all day through the mountains. It was an amazing detox from city life, something I really needed. My job at Chabad has been perfect as well. I’m currently running programs and engaging students daily. This is something that I’m very good at and enjoy. I truly feel alive again! Plus I love being back with Rabbi Wilhelm and his wonderful family for Shabbatot and Holidays. We have had major success this semester getting new and old students to events, services, and classes. Jewish Festival Night had over 400+ students, Rosh Hashana 250+ students, and Yom Kippur 150+ students. I love it! I’ve also been doing a lot of graphic design and website development, which I also love. Over the next two weeks, I have 20 programs/meals for Sukkot. Ending my short time here with a big bang. This is all gearing up for Chabad @ CU to open the new Schaeffer Chabad House at 909 14th Street. I’m sad I won’t be here for the opening and finalizations. It is going to be very big and beautiful, check out the pictures here.

Aliyah 2.0 and Grad School

Here I go again…moving back to the Holy Land. Two weeks from today, Oct 19th I will be flying back to Israel. I have been trying to figure out my return ever since I left in 2012. Finally I figured out the next step in my journey, Grad School. In three weeks, I start classes at the University of Haifa to get a MA in Israel Studies. This is a three semester program with amazing classes. My first semester I will be taking; Religion, Science and Politics in the Cartography of Israel from the Middle Ages to Our Time, The Holocaust and the Israeli Society, The Zionist Ideology and Gender, and A Social History of Palestinian Society. All very exciting, no?

I’m excited to be back in Israel. I’m having a lot of normal troubles though with the details. I don’t know if I have a dorm room, no one will get back to me. I don’t have money in my Israeli account to pay the deposit…hope they will wait until I get there to pay with dollars. I’m glad Israel is a little bit less formal than the US, so I think I will be good. I should have a full amount of grants and scholarships to cover all the costs, but no conformations yet. Gotta love Israel. The best part of going back though is to see and have lots of time with my Israeli friends. Plus I get to do some reserve duty finally. Hopefully I’ll even get a position/job in my new unit.

Well, its been real everyone. I hope you enjoyed the update. For now enjoy some pictures from the last few months, especially my great beard.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

