New Chapter, New Year, New City, New Focus

This last week I begin a new chapter in life. I finished my undergraduate degree from the University of Colorado and had an amazing summer. The Colorado Shakespeare Festival ended with a bang and I made so many friends and gained a ton of experience in the Theatre. I am sad to leave my family, friends, roommates, Chabad, and Boulder. I never could have made it through this past year with out some of the most amazing and supportive people. Special Shout out to Joshua Hooper, Josh Umland, Nadav Rosen, Avi Gross, Zilla Goodman, Rabbi Yisroel and Leah Wilhelm, Yitzi, Asher, Levi, and Yocheved. 

THANKS!

I am now living in Washington DC (Columbia Heights). I have decided to kickstart my career in Jewish Non-profits with a year of service in AVODAH: The Jewish Service Corps. My placement for the year is at the DC Jewish Community Center and Behrend Builders as the Community Service Associate. I start working this Tuesday! I am living with 9 other Avodahnicks, with all different placements in DC. Our house is in the Columbia Heights neighborhood, just NW of downtown. The neighborhood is definitely the most diverse place I have ever lived and a whole new adventure. All these new places, work, and passion of mine are all right inline with the Jewish New Year, Rosh HaShanah. I am nervous to be away from any familiar families for meals and services, but I’m sure it won’t take me long to find a home and service.

Well, I’m just about all moved in and orientation is over. My housemates and I are going to be figuring out the next few days on how to live communally. Yes, I am going to have to share…. Well, I did get my own room and bathroom. I just need to figure out food sharing. I’m the only gluten, soy, dairy, egg free housemate.  

Thats it for now. I do plan to update my blog more often now that I’m doing something new and exciting. So stay tuned for more. Next week I will be able to talk about the work I’m going to be doing. 

 

l’shana tova/Happy New Year everyone! 

 

One thought on “New Chapter, New Year, New City, New Focus

Leave a Reply

