Yes, Sergeant Darling!

Hey, so this is a bit late… but I got promoted a few weeks ago to the rank of Samal, סמל, or Sergeant. I was supposed to be promoted at the beginning of December, but my unit has been busy and you have to have a ceremony with at least the whole pluga (Company).

I had just left my unit to go to a course, which is my next post, on the same day my unit had a ceremony at the Kotel (Western Wall). The ceremony was to receive the new Unit Pin. It was a really special cold night at the Kotel in the Old City of Jerusalem. I brought along with me my favorite American family in Israel, the Skupsky family. Irene their daughter and I went to college together and she was also in town.  We all walked to the ceremony and I joined my unit just in time. They gave some speeches and they the new pin. After the Unit ceremony we had one just for my Pluga. My friends and I all got promoted one by one. The best part is when they called my name, they also invited Don, of the family, to put the rank on my uniform. *Pic below. It was really cool to have him there and it was at the kotel, so it was perfect.

So…please call me Sergeant Darling. lol.

One thought on “Yes, Sergeant Darling!

Leave a Reply

