Course Nativ (קורס נתיב)

Shalom from a very wintry Israel. It has been raining a ton this past week, yesterday we had some big hail too. It looked like snow!

This past week I started an army course for Olim Hadashim (new immigrants). Link to IDF description of course nativ. Its a course to teach us about Israel and Judaism. Its also the first part of the IDF conversion process (Giur גיור). I decited to do the course to learn more history of Judaism and Israel. I’m Jewish according to the Law, so I do not need to convert.

It was a pretty fun and long week. Its based in a civilian compound at Givat Haviva, near where I live. I arrived to the course without knowing anyone else. I just knew that there would be a lot of Russians and a few other people like me. We got split into groups (Tzevet) within the first hour. I was put in one of the lowest groups according to my Hebrew level. I was defiantly missed placed, as I have a higher level of Hebrew that most the tzevet. They wanted to move me, but I am really enjoying the group of people. We are about 20 from all over the world. Brazil, Argentina, Peru, California, New York, Belgium, England, Australia, Ukraine, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Ethiopia. It is a very interesting mix of Israeli soldiers, that you never see. I hang with the “English speaking” group mostly. They are really great people…super funny.

We have classes from 8am to 8pm. We learn a lot with a bunch of civilian teachers. The classes are; Jewish History, Zionism, Israel’s History, Jewish Thought, Practical Judaism, Talmud (Jewish Bible), Life Circle, etc.

Its for the most part a fun and laid back environment, but we still have a lot of the army discipline. We have great food and maids though… We don’t have to clean! first and only time in the Army for me I’m sure.  All the commanders are girls and a lot younger than me, but they are pretty chill if you don’t mess up.

Well, thats it for this weekend. I’ll update everyone next time on some of the things I’m learning. I hope i’ll have some fun stories to share too.

Shabbat shalom!

Leave a Reply

