The Summer is Over

Whats up Readers?

Its been quite some time since my last post. I’ve been pretty busy on base and haven’t been home a lot like I used to. I’m just going to make this easy to read and post headlines of the past few months.  BTW, I’ve gotten a lot of hits lately and I’ve passed the 10,000 mark! A part of this is thanks to my friend Becky. You should also check out her blog… its a very different perspective of a lone soldier than mine. Click here to Read.

Here we go:

A New Commander

I have been more busy on base for a few different reasons, but the main one is that we have a new unit commander. He has come into our lives and flipped us on our heads. He is a tall, big, and powerful looking type. We have to salute him too, which really doesn’t happen a lot in the IDF. Well he is making a lot of changes and good ones too. I can tell he really cares and wants to bring the Unit to the top levels of the army. It is just giving me a lot of work. I’ve been in the same position for over a year now, so I get a lot of the missions. Its nice to have something to do though. The next four months are going to be a bit crazy.

10K Night Race in Tel Aviv

I just also completed my first 1oK race. All the combat soldiers in my unit participated in the Tel Aviv Nike Night Run. It was a crazy experience. So many people all wearing the same shirt. It was like a river though out Tel Aviv. It was also a lot easier than I expected. My friend, Nadav and I, ran it in about an hour. Not really a good race time, but it was packed and we passed a ton of people the whole way. Just to finish felt really great.

Culture Day

We had another culture day last week. This time we got to see some super old cave in Beit Shemesh. It definitely was one of the most beautiful caves I have ever seen, and I’ve been in some of the best. It was pretty small though…. After the cave we went to a monastery in an arab village. There is a really cool monk that invites Army units to the monastery to hear his story and the story of there brotherhood. It was a very beautiful place and the monk was so funny. He is prob THE #1 fan of the IDF. He even wears uniform pants under his monk clothes.

Four more months!!!

I had a somewhat hard week because I was told that I wouldn’t be able to fly to visit the US in January and that I would have to wait until March. My commanders don’t want me to leave in the middle of a very busy period. In March I will have a month off to visit the states, Colorado mostly. I then will return to Israel and have what is called a Hofsash. Its a few weeks of vacation before my official release from active duty. It is meant to be used to get ready for the entrance to the after army life. Then when that is over I will be released from the Army, May 3rd, 2012. Wow! So I only have four more months in my unit. Crazy to think about. Its so so close.

After Army Plans

I have been using a lot of my time now thinking about what to do after the army. It is hard to figure this out on my own though, so I have reached out to Nefesh B’Nefesh, my aliyah advisors. After talking to them and some of my friends, I have started to work on the details. So, it looks like I’m going to be returning to the USA sometime after I am released from the army. I then will return to the University of Colorado, to finish my theater degree. I am working on my reapplication and also finding a job. Which I am leaning towards being an RA again. I then will finish my degree in a year and a summer….or something like that. It then looks like I will fly back to Israel and start on my Master’s degree (Free). So yea, thats about it for now….we will see though.

Well I hope everyone has a great Shabbat and month of November! Love!

Leave a Reply

