Mom’s Visit and Passover

Hag Pasach Samach! Happy Passover from the Holy Land.

My Mom’s first time in Israel:

So a few weeks ago my Mom came to visit me from Colorado. She had never been to Israel and hadn’t seen me in a year. It was a really great 1o busy days. We started by coming to my Kibbutz to get my mom settled in a bit and meet my host family. We then took the bus to Jerusalem to  spend the rest of the week. We stayed in a family’s apartment for four days. We saw as much as we could…Western Wall, Old City, Yad VaShem (Holocaust Museum), Mt. Herzel, Israel Museum, Shuk, and downtown. I think she really enjoyed it and she got lots of gifts. We also ran into some of my friends along the way. We also took a day trip up to the north of Israel. Idan, my Host brother, drove us all the way to the Golan Heights, Kinaret (Sea of Galiee), and Haifa. The last weekend of her trip we finished up in Zikron Ya’kov, with her second cousins. We also attended my third cousin’s wedding on the beach. All in all it was a good quick trip.

Passover (Pasach)

The week leading up to Pasach was a bit crazy. I was in the field most of the week, which was fun, but as soon as we got back it was time to get the base ready for Pasach. I really felt Jewish in a unexplainable culturisitic way. While very busy we Army missions we had to clean and kosher everything! We went OCD for a few days. I can’t explain the atmosphere. A few debates even broke out WHY we have to clean…most of the soldiers are secular and have never cleaned like this for a holiday they don’t keep kosher for…but its the Israel/Jewish Army and everything has to be kosher. The unit had a two week break planned for the holiday and we were all very excited, but when the time came it wasn’t looking like we were going to be going home at all. … well I have to skip all the details …. but in the end most of us got to leave. I have a week and half off!!

Lil Sader:

I got very lucky this year and was invited to have the Passover Seder with the Commander of the IDF, Benny Gantz and the Minister of Defense, Ehud Barak. At first I thought I was pretty special only to find out that 350+ Lone Soldiers were also in attendance. Hebrew Link. It was a nice break from the army and I met up with a bunch of friends I hadn’t seen in a long time. Thee food was great and the weather even better. Here is a picture too from after the holiday.

The rest of my time off I’m just going to be relaxing at home, with friends, and on the beach. Tuesday Night I have a good bye party with my unit and Wednesday I have my long awaited interview for the commander position. If I get it…cross your fingers…I will start the course the week after!! I’m really excited and I’m putting everything out to get this position.

I hope you all have a great holiday and are enjoying the spring weather all over!!! Love and miss you all.

-Tzvi

Leave a Reply

