I got the week off!

I’m Free! Well for the week at least. How did I pull it off?

I am so bored on base now that I’m in Limbo. I still haven’t heard about when I will start Hebrew lessons or another course. Therefore they they try to find jobs for me to do and help our around the base. On Monday, I was send to the Uniform Storage to help out. I really didn’t do much, just sit around and doing minor jobs here and there. I was kinda happy because I had air conditioning.

I’m stuck with other soldiers now that are not in a course too. We are there for completely different reasons though. Most of them don’t want to be in the Army and are trying to get out. I kinda just sit on the side and listen to them figure out how. I have heard many different stories now…quiet funny. The funny thing though is that, I want to be in the Army and they don’t and we are stuck together.

Tuesday, I wasn’t too excited to find out what I would be doing for the day. Something boring or shitty. We had our room inspection and my commander told me to go to the office. I take my time getting there, not waiting to start working on time… So I arrive a bit late and my higher ranking commander tells me to go back to my room, change in A uniform, and come back. He says that I have off until Sunday.

WOW. WHAT???? So so so excited! I won’t have to break my Army to go home this week. Thank G-d, for helping me out. I can’t put into words how happy I was walking back to my room. No one usually talks to me while I’m walking on base, but for some reason, the whole way back people greeted me and asked how I was. I didn’t even know them… I guess they could tell I was happy.

I have no clue what to do this week, but I think I don’t mind. I have had the chance to check up on friends in the states and even start a new portion to my blog.

BLOG ADDITION: Sources of Inspiration

I am starting to comment and find inspiration for the week’s Torah portion. I have done this on trips I have led, shabbat dinners, and at Summer camp. I hope you enjoy and even find some inspiration yourself. Check it out, there is a tab at the top of the blog.

Have a great week and good luck to all my friends starting their semester. Go Buffs!

P.S. I hope you like the new layout of the blog too… šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “I got the week off!

  1. Hi, Tzvi – I administer a Facebook fan page for a new Israeli nonprofit called “Halev – The Organization for the Lone Soldier.” (http://bit.ly/9Gz18b). I’ve posted content from your blog on the page before, and I wanted to ask you how you would feel about syndicating your content to our page via Facebook’s ‘Networked Blogs’ app.

    A female IDF soldier started doing this w/ us this week, and I think it’s a good idea to have more Lone Soldier blogs directly on our page. Take a look what I mean, and let me know if you think it’s a good idea. Content would publish and archive to our “blog” tab, but new posts would also appear on our wall. We have almost 400 fans who would also see your stuff.

    If you think it’s a good idea, just let me know via our wall. I’ll send you a private message on Facebook and we’ll go from there.

    Thanks, Scott

  2. Wow!! Kudos Tzvi for getting an opportunity to syndicate your posts to Halev (the Lion?)! You should really do it! Good job!

Leave a Reply

